Production, from seed to the plate

Production, from seed to table

In the field:

Soil preparation is a fundamental step to ensure good sowing and optimal germination.

The direct seeding step, when the seed is sown, starts in springtime, as of mid-April for the earliest varieties, and through to the end of the month of June. The diversity in the varieties of seed enables forcing all year long.

As of the month of August, the roots are ready. Harvesting the roots can continue until December for the late varieties. This step is  crucially important for root storage. Careful attention is paid to root maturity and to climate conditions in this period

groupement-slide1
production1-slide2
production1-slide3
production1-slide4
production1-slide5
production1-slide6
production2-slide1
production2-slide2

Root storage

After harvesting, the roots are cleaned and calibrated, then stored in  wooden box pallets which are then stored in a cooler, in the dark, at a temperature which blocks the growing cycle of the endive. These storage conditions enable us to produce endives all year long to meet the demand

Endive production

Based on demand, the roots are brought out of the cool dark storage and placed vertically in deep containers.

These containers are placed in warm, completely dark growing rooms called forcing rooms, where the grower controls the temperature, the humidity (through a watering system which circulates between the growing containers) and the darkness. The endives, or chicons as they are also known, reach maturity after 21 days, and are brought out of the forcing room.

The chicons are then separated from the roots, a process which is referred to as cassage.

production3-slide1
production3-slide2
production3-slide3bis
production4-slide1bis
production4-slide2
production4-slide3
production4-slide4
production4-slide5bis
production4-slide6

Packing and Shipping

The endives, or chicons, are placed on packing conveyor belts  where certain leaves are removed and the endives are carefully cleaned, weighed and  packed in bags, trays and boxes.

Customer orders are then filled by placing these packs on palettes which are stored in the cooler for optimal storage conditions.

Orders are shipped via refrigerated transportation directly to our customers (buyer groups, distribution platforms, wholesalers, export…). This shortens delivery times and ensures optimal freshness. Our constant, daily objective is “zero inventory” to ensure 100% customer satisfaction.

La production : de la graine à l’assiette

La production, de la graine à l’assiette

La culture au champ

La préparation du sol est une étape essentielle pour réaliser un bon semis et une levée optimale.

L ’étape du semis (où les graines sont semées) a lieu au printemps : à partir de mi avril pour les variétés les plus précoces jusqu’à la fin du mois de juin. La diversité des variétés de graine permet un forçage toute l’année.

A partir du mois d’aout, les racines arrivent à maturité. Commence alors la phase de l’arrachage qui peut se prolonger jusqu’en décembre pour les variétés tardives. C’est une étape cruciale pour la conservation des racines. Une attention toute particulière est portée à la maturité des racines et aux conditions climatiques de la période.

groupement-slide1
production1-slide2
production1-slide3
production1-slide4
production1-slide5
production1-slide6
production2-slide1
production2-slide2

La conservation des racines

Après l’arrachage vient l’étape du déterrage où les racines sont nettoyées et calibrées.

Puis les racines sont stockées dans des palox (grandes caisses en bois) qui seront eux mêmes stockés dans des chambres froides à l’abri de la lumière et à une température qui bloque le cycle végétatif de l’endive. Ce mode de conservation permet de produire des endives tout au long de l’année en fonction des besoins.

La production des endives

En fonction de la demande, les racines sont sorties au fur et à mesure des chambres froides.

Elles sont placées verticalement dans des bacs.

Ces bacs sont ensuite disposés à l’obscurité dans des salles de pousse dites de forçage. Le producteur y contrôle et maitrise la température, l’humidité (par un système de circulation d’eau entre les bacs) et l’obscurité. L’endive arrive à maturité au terme de 21 jours.

Elles sont ensuite sorties de la salle de forçage pour séparer l’endive de la racine, c’est ce que l’on appelle l’étape du cassage.

production3-slide1
production3-slide2
production3-slide3bis
production4-slide1bis
production4-slide2
production4-slide3
production4-slide4
production4-slide5bis
production4-slide6

Conditionnement et expédition

Les endives sont ensuite convoyées par les tapis de conditionnement, où elles sont nettoyées, épluchées, pesées et emballées avec le plus grand soin, dans des sachets, barquettes ou cartons.

Les colis sont ensuite placés sur des palettes (par commande et par client) qui sont elles mêmes conservées dans des chambres froides afin de permettre une conservation optimale.

Les commandes sont ensuite expédiées par transports réfrigérés directement aux clients (centrale d’achat, plateforme de distribution, grossiste, export,…) ce qui permet de limiter le délai de livraison et d‘assurer ainsi une fraicheur optimale. Notre objectif quotidien est le « zéro stock » pour assurer les 100% de satisfaction client.